Wall Street Adventures

Camera: Canon 70D
Lens: EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Focal Length: 18 mm
ISO: 400
Shutter: 1/160 secs
Aperture: f/3.5


During my lunch break you can catch me wandering the streets of Wall Street. This whole area is filled with history and beautiful architecture. It’s one of my go to places to shoot after it rains. The reflections on the floor can create some pretty great shots such as my featured image for this blog entry. Because some of the buildings are so high lighting can sometimes be limited. My camera lens can only go up 3.5 in aperture, not really allowing too much light to go in. Therefore, I had to boost up the ISO for this shot.

Now the thing about water reflection shots is that many times they require you to really get low on the floor. I had to wait, squatting, for the right people to walk by for this shot. A few of the main types of people that walk by here on the daily basis are men in suits and delivery people. Of course it’s also packed with tourists but I wanted to give off that corporate, finance, “wall street” ambience to the image. One of the things I liked about this shot is the way the suited man walks with is hand inside is right pocket. A habit I’ve noticed with many business men. I chose to convert the photo to a black and white because it was a pretty gloomy day and there just wasn’t enough color contrast for the image to pop.

Leave a comment