Animal Photography

Camera: Canon 70D
Lens: EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Focal Length: 50 mm
ISO: 250
Shutter: 1/500 secs
Aperture: f/5.0


By now I think I’ve made it clear that I spend most of my breaks in Battery Park. I feel one of the most iconic things about Battery Park are the friendly and approachable squirrels when you offer them food. Initially, I had planned to post a picture of one of the squirrels approaching my camera, I guess he/she thought I had food, but these couple of sparrows stole the spotlight. Just before they seemed to be leaning forward to kiss  I was able to get a snapshot of the romance. Unfortunately, they got scared from a group of tourist rushing to capture a photo of the squirrels below them that were eating food off of people’s hands. When it comes to photographing wildlife it’s not only important to shoot at high shutter speeds of at least 1/1,000 of a second for birds flying, but observing and predicting movements in advance can be the difference in capturing a more genuine, natural and in the moment picture.

One of the first types of photography that I was interested in was animal photography. Not so much portraits of people. There’s just something more fun and thrilling to capture photos of animals because you don’t know what they’re thinking and what they’re about to do next. Even when I would return to my desk to look through the photos I took there would be moments where I find a picture I had no idea I took or noticed when I was shooting away.

Leave a comment